Skip to main content
Evidence Based Longevity (EBL) Check what I take
B

Supplement · graded by use, three uses

Amla (Indian Gooseberry, Emblica officinalis)

Lipid profile (LDL Low-density lipoprotein cholesterol, the cholesterol fraction most closely tied to plaque in the arteries., triglycerides).

Compare this record with another, side by side →

In plain words

Amla, also called Indian gooseberry, is a fruit. A pooled review of five studies found that it lowered LDL cholesterol and triglycerides. So did a 12-week study of a fruit extract in adults with metabolic syndrome. These are blood fat readings, not heart attacks or deaths. Effects on blood sugar, inflammation and blood vessel health were smaller and less certain. In one human study it made bleeding take longer, both alone and with aspirin.

The B belongs to one of the three uses graded on this record. The other two carry their own letters.

Grades by use · each use graded on its own evidence
BLipid profile (LDL, triglycerides)surrogate biomarker A measurable sign in the body, such as a blood test value, used to track a condition or the effect of a treatment.
As studied, and the trials
As studied
Dose250 mg or 500 mg twice daily, with 500 mg twice daily more effective for lipids (Usharani 2019, PMID PubMed ID: the permanent number the US National Library of Medicine gives a published paper. Each one links to that paper's record on PubMed. 31060549). Doses in the pooled trials are not stated in the meta-analysis A study that pools the numbers from several trials into one combined estimate. abstract (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568).
FormCapsules of standardized aqueous extract of Phyllanthus emblica fruit (CAPROS), standardized by HPLC to at least 60% low molecular weight hydrolysable tannins (emblicanin A and B, pedunculagin, punigluconin), supplied by Natreon (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549). Forms in the pooled trials are not stated in the meta-analysis abstract (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568).
PopulationFive RCTs Randomized controlled trial: people are assigned to the treatment or a comparison by chance, so the groups differ only in what they received. It is the design that can show cause and effect. in adults, generally aged 40 to 58 with average BMI 25.5 (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568). 59 adults aged 30 to 68 (mean about 57) with metabolic syndrome, endothelial dysfunction and lipid abnormalities, 43 men and 16 women, smokers excluded (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549).
Duration3 to 12 weeks across the pooled trials (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568). 12 weeks (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549).

Setayesh 2023 meta-analysis of RCTs (PMID 36934568) and Usharani 2019 RCT (PMID 31060549) show consistent reductions in LDL and triglycerides. Surrogate endpoints A lab value or measurement used in place of the outcome that matters, such as LDL cholesterol standing in for heart attacks. Moving a surrogate does not always move the outcome.; no hard-outcome data.

CGlycemic control (fasting glucose, HbA1c A blood test that reflects average blood sugar over the previous two to three months.)surrogate biomarker
As studied, and the trials

Setayesh 2023 meta (PMID 36934568) found modest glucose reduction; effect smaller and less consistent than the lipid effect.

CSystemic inflammation (CRP) and endothelial functionsurrogate biomarker
As studied, and the trials

Reduced CRP and improved endothelial function in metabolic-syndrome RCTs; small trials, surrogate markers.

Read the grade that matches your goal. How EBL grades by use →

BAmla (gallic acid) structure
C7H6O5
Gallic acid · representative structure, not to scale
B Grade B

A letter describes the human evidence, not the product, the manufacturer, or the ingredient's worth.

See the full evidence record →

Lipid profile, meaning LDL and triglycerides. Glycemic control, and CRP with endothelial function, are each graded C on the same record.

Meta-analysisWhy this flag? ▾

Pooled data across multiple human RCTs. The strongest tier of evidence synthesis.

Learn more about evidence flags →
RCTWhy this flag? ▾

At least one randomized, placebo-controlled human trial, typically double-blinded Neither the participants nor the people assessing them know who received the real treatment until the trial ends..

Learn more about evidence flags →
Why this gradeThe reasoning, and what the grade does not cover.
Why this grade

Grade B on lipids (meta-analysis of RCTs plus a double-blind RCT, consistent LDL/triglyceride reduction). Grade C on glycemic control and inflammation (smaller, less consistent effects). Surrogate endpoints The outcome a trial measures to decide whether the treatment worked, such as heart attacks, blood pressure or a symptom score. throughout; no hard-outcome data.

A grade describes the human evidence for a named use. It is not advice, and it is not a judgment on any individual prescription. How the letters are decided →

Who responds: this record's trial reading reports no subgroup that identifies who responds.

As studied: dose, form, population and duration for every use
As studied
Lipid profile (LDL, triglycerides)
FormCapsules of standardized aqueous extract of Phyllanthus emblica fruit (CAPROS), standardized by HPLC to at least 60% low molecular weight hydrolysable tannins (emblicanin A and B, pedunculagin, punigluconin), supplied by Natreon (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549). Forms in the pooled trials are not stated in the meta-analysis abstract (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568).
Dose250 mg or 500 mg twice daily, with 500 mg twice daily more effective for lipids (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549). Doses in the pooled trials are not stated in the meta-analysis abstract (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568).
PopulationFive RCTs in adults, generally aged 40 to 58 with average BMI 25.5 (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568). 59 adults aged 30 to 68 (mean about 57) with metabolic syndrome, endothelial dysfunction and lipid abnormalities, 43 men and 16 women, smokers excluded (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549).
Duration3 to 12 weeks across the pooled trials (Setayesh 2023, PMID 36934568). 12 weeks (Usharani 2019, PMID 31060549).

A grade describes the intervention that was tested. Where the product on the shelf differs from it, this says so.

Commercial disclosure
EBL earns no commission on any supplement it grades. A purchase made through the dispensary link below pays EBL nothing, the practitioner discount goes to you in full. The dispensary is Fullscript, a practitioner dispensary, and many of the professional-grade brands in it are sold mainly through practitioners rather than in health food stores. Grades are assigned by published rubric before any commercial relationship exists and are never influenced by one. Full disclosure.

Evidence last reviewed July 2026
Dose

500 mg standardized fruit extract twice daily (the cited trial used 250 to 500 mg twice daily of a standardized aqueous extract). Whole-fruit powder doses are higher and less standardized.

Form note

Standardized aqueous fruit extract is the form used in the cited trial. High in vitamin C and hydrolysable tannins (emblicanin, gallic acid): the polyphenols, not the vitamin C alone, are thought to drive the lipid and vascular effects.

Timing in the trials

The cited trial gave one capsule twice daily (PMID 31060549). Its report does not state a time of day or whether doses were taken with food.

Checked against the full published report. What the cited trials did, not a schedule. Every supplement, by trial timing →

How to buy this: quality criteria, not a brand
How to buy this · quality criteria, not a brand
Clinical dose (what trials used)

500mg of a standardized fruit extract twice daily, the dose used in the metabolic-syndrome RCTs.

Form the evidence used

Standardized aqueous fruit extract (the trial form). Unstandardized whole-fruit powder is lower in the active polyphenols.

Third-party seal to look for

Third-party tested for purity.

Red flags to avoid

Unstandardized whole-fruit powder; blends that hide the extract mg; products sold mainly as a vitamin-C source rather than a standardized polyphenol extract.

The grade and these criteria are set only from human trials. Any purchase link is convenience and does not affect the grade.

Contraindications A condition or medication that makes a treatment unsafe or unsuitable for a particular person. · read before use
Contraindications and cautions

Raised bleeding risk, and separation from surgery on the same grounds. Anyone whose glucose is already being driven low by treatment.

Drug Interactions

Diabetes medication: additive glucose lowering. Anticoagulants and antiplatelets: amla reduced platelet aggregation in two human studies, and in one it prolonged bleeding time, both alone and alongside aspirin or clopidogrel, so this caution rests on a measured effect rather than a mechanism. BTK inhibitors such as ibrutinib impair the same collagen-driven platelet response, and no study of amla with a BTK inhibitor exists. Amla is high in vitamin C, which increases non-heme iron absorption.

Sources for the above

Mechanism-based, no human interaction study located. The iron-absorption and anticoagulant interactions described for Amla (Indian Gooseberry, Emblica officinalis) are mechanism-based. A PubMed search for human interaction, pharmacokinetic or co-administration studies pairing it with iron or with anticoagulants returned no results in September 2026, searching under Amla, Emblica officinalis, Phyllanthus emblica and Indian gooseberry. The antiplatelet caution is no longer on this row: the August 2026 search used only the name Amla and missed two human platelet studies, which are now cited on their own row. Basis: pharmacological mechanism, not a human study. Searched PubMed in September 2026: 2 queries, 0 human results.

Amla reduced platelet aggregation in human studies. Two human studies measured an antiplatelet effect from amla extract. In a randomized crossover A trial design in which each participant receives both the treatment and the comparison, one after the other, and serves as their own control. study of 10 people with type 2 diabetes, amla alone reduced platelet aggregation and prolonged bleeding time, as aspirin and clopidogrel did in the same study, alone and combined with amla. In a single-arm 12-week study of overweight adults, ADP- and collagen-induced platelet aggregation fell. Fatima et al. (Phytomedicine, 2014; PMID 24291054): randomized open-label Everyone in the trial knows which treatment they are receiving, so expectations can shape the results, especially for symptoms people report themselves. crossover study of the pharmacodynamic interaction of Phyllanthus emblica extract with clopidogrel and aspirin in type 2 diabetes. Khanna et al. (Journal of Medicinal Food, 2015; PMID 25756303): 12 weeks of a standardized Phyllanthus emblica extract reduced ADP- and collagen-induced platelet aggregation in overweight adults.

Amla and ibrutinib: both reduce the platelet response to collagen. Ibrutinib's platelet defect lies in the response to collagen. Amla extract reduced collagen- and ADP-induced platelet aggregation in a 12-week human study, and prolonged bleeding time in a crossover study that also tested aspirin and clopidogrel. A PubMed search in September 2026 located no study giving amla with a BTK inhibitor. Bye et al. (Blood Advances, 2017; PMID 29296914): ibrutinib impairs collagen-induced platelet aggregation and thrombus formation. Khanna et al. (Journal of Medicinal Food, 2015; PMID 25756303): reduced ADP- and collagen-induced platelet aggregation after 12 weeks of amla extract. Fatima et al. (Phytomedicine, 2014; PMID 24291054): amla prolonged bleeding time alone and with aspirin or clopidogrel.

How to track

Lipid panel (LDL, triglycerides), fasting glucose/HbA1c, hs-CRP High-sensitivity C-reactive protein, a blood marker of low-grade inflammation. at 12 weeks

Primary evidenceTwo papers, each linked to its PubMed record.
Primary evidence

Setayesh et al. (Diabetes Metab Syndr, 2023; PMID 36934568): systematic review A review that searches for every study on a question using a method set in advance, then assesses them together. and meta-analysis of RCTs: Amla supplementation improved lipid profile, glucose, and C-reactive protein in adults. Usharani et al. (BMC Complement Altern Med, 2019; PMID 31060549): randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial: standardized Phyllanthus emblica extract improved endothelial function, systemic inflammation, and lipid profile in metabolic syndrome. Grade B on lipids; glycemic and CRP effects are more modest (Grade C).

Related conditions

Educational use only · Not medical advice · Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician

FDA / DSHEA statement

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The grade on this page describes the strength of published human trial evidence in the populations studied. It is not a recommendation for any individual and is not medical advice. Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician.

Independence
EBL earns nothing on this record.

This page carries a letter. EBL takes no commission, referral fee or payment of any kind on anything it grades. No letter has been bought and none is for sale.

How this is enforced

That is not a promise, it is a build condition. Two checks run on every deploy: one refuses to publish if a commission is claimed on anything graded, the other refuses if a page names a commercial relationship that is not declared in the register. If either fails, this page does not go live. You can read how the checks work, and what they do not cover, on the evidence integrity page.

Grades move when new trials publish. A free monthly email lists every grade EBL moved, with the reason and the trial behind it: the sign-up is on the Evidence Log →