Skip to main content
Evidence Based Longevity (EBL) Check what I take
B

Supplement

Cinnamon (Cassia / Ceylon)

Fasting glucose and some lipid markers in type 2 diabetes; the effect is modest and HbA1c A blood test that reflects average blood sugar over the previous two to three months. results are less consistent.

Compare this record with another, side by side →

In plain words

Cinnamon is a common spice sold in two main types, cassia and Ceylon. In people with type 2 diabetes, pooled studies found modest drops in fasting blood sugar and some blood fats. Results for long-term blood sugar were less consistent. Most studies used cassia, which contains a compound called coumarin. Ceylon has very little. Coumarin is a concern in liver disease, and cinnamon can add to diabetes drugs and push blood sugar too low.

B Cinnamon (Cassia / Ceylon) structure
C9H8O
Key constituent: cinnamaldehyde
Dose studied
2–6 g/day
Form graded
Cassia or Ceylon cinnamon (aqueous/whole)
Cited PMIDs PubMed ID: the permanent number the US National Library of Medicine gives a published paper. Each one links to that paper's record on PubMed.
PMID 24019277 →PMID 38917435 →
B Grade B

A letter describes the human evidence, not the product, the manufacturer, or the ingredient's worth.

See the full evidence record →

Who responds: this record's trial reading reports no subgroup that identifies who responds.

Cinnamon (Cassia / Ceylon) for fasting glucose and HbA1c, graded on published human trial evidence.

RCTWhy this flag? ▾

At least one randomized, placebo-controlled human trial, typically double-blinded Neither the participants nor the people assessing them know who received the real treatment until the trial ends..

Learn more about evidence flags →
PilotWhy this flag? ▾

Small (typically n<50), exploratory trial. Often open-label Everyone in the trial knows which treatment they are receiving, so expectations can shape the results, especially for symptoms people report themselves.. Hypothesis-generating, not definitive.

Learn more about evidence flags →
As studied
FormCinnamon supplementation, oral, compared with placebo An inactive substitute made to look like the real treatment, so participants cannot tell which one they received. or control (Allen 2013 meta-analysis A study that pools the numbers from several trials into one combined estimate., PMID 24019277; de Moura 2025 meta-analysis, PMID 38917435); capsule form was analyzed as a subgroup (de Moura 2025, PMID 38917435). Species (cassia or Ceylon) is not stated in the cited abstracts.
Dose120 mg/day to 6 g/day (Allen 2013, PMID 24019277); doses analyzed as 2 g/day or less and more than 2 g/day (de Moura 2025, PMID 38917435).
PopulationPatients with type 2 diabetes: 10 trials, 543 patients (Allen 2013, PMID 24019277); 28 trials, 3054 adults and elderly patients (de Moura 2025, PMID 38917435). Age range and sex mix are not stated in the cited abstracts.
Duration4 to 18 weeks (Allen 2013, PMID 24019277); 30 to 120 days (de Moura 2025, PMID 38917435).

A grade describes the intervention that was tested. Where the product on the shelf differs from it, this says so.

Commercial disclosure
EBL earns no commission on any supplement it grades. A purchase made through the dispensary link below pays EBL nothing, the practitioner discount goes to you in full. The dispensary is Fullscript, a practitioner dispensary, and many of the professional-grade brands in it are sold mainly through practitioners rather than in health food stores. Grades are assigned by published rubric before any commercial relationship exists and are never influenced by one. Full disclosure.

Evidence last reviewed July 2026
Dose

No dose is published here. This record carries no authored dose, because the cited trials do not converge on a single figure. Each trial cited on this page states the dose it used, and EBL has not turned those into a recommendation.

Form note

Standardized extracts/forms were used in the cited trials; product quality varies.

Timing in the trials

The cited reviews pool trials and do not report when doses were taken (PMID 24019277, PMID 38917435).

Checked against the published summaries; the full papers could not be read. What the cited trials did, not a schedule. Every supplement, by trial timing →

Contraindications A condition or medication that makes a treatment unsafe or unsuitable for a particular person. · read before use
Contraindications and cautions

Liver disease, and any situation where cumulative coumarin intake matters. Cassia cinnamon, which is what most supplements and most kitchens contain, carries coumarin; Ceylon cinnamon carries very little. The two are sold under the same word.

Drug Interactions

Diabetes medication, including insulin, sulfonylureas and metformin: cinnamon lowers fasting glucose in pooled trial evidence, so the effect is additive and hypoglycemia is the failure mode. Anticoagulants: coumarin is not warfarin, but cassia's coumarin load is a reason to be deliberate about the combination.

Sources for the above

Cassia cinnamon carries coumarin; Ceylon does not. Cassia cinnamon contains coumarin at levels that make cumulative intake a liver-safety question, and most cinnamon sold as a supplement or a spice is cassia. Abraham et al. (Molecular Nutrition and Food Research, 2010; PMID 20024932): toxicology and risk assessment of coumarin, focused on the human data.

How to track

Fasting blood glucose and HbA1c at baseline and 12 weeks: the glucose-lowering evidence is the most replicated The same finding reproduced by a separate research group. A result seen once can be chance or bias; a replicated one is harder to explain away. in human trials. Also monitor fasting insulin and HOMA-IR if available. Cassia cinnamon contains coumarin and should not be used at high doses long-term: Ceylon cinnamon is the safer choice for sustained use, though most trials used Cassia.

Primary evidenceTwo papers, each linked to its PubMed record.
Primary evidence

Allen et al. (Annals of Family Medicine, 2013; PMID 24019277) and de Moura et al. (Nutrition Reviews, 2025; PMID 38917435): meta-analyses: cinnamon modestly lowered fasting glucose and some lipid markers in type 2 diabetes; HbA1c effects were less consistent. Grade B: meta-analytic RCT Randomized controlled trial: people are assigned to the treatment or a comparison by chance, so the groups differ only in what they received. It is the design that can show cause and effect. evidence, modest glycemic effect.

Educational use only · Not medical advice · Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician

FDA / DSHEA statement

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The grade on this page describes the strength of published human trial evidence in the populations studied. It is not a recommendation for any individual and is not medical advice. Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician.

Independence
EBL earns nothing on this record.

This page carries a letter. EBL takes no commission, referral fee or payment of any kind on anything it grades. No letter has been bought and none is for sale.

How this is enforced

That is not a promise, it is a build condition. Two checks run on every deploy: one refuses to publish if a commission is claimed on anything graded, the other refuses if a page names a commercial relationship that is not declared in the register. If either fails, this page does not go live. You can read how the checks work, and what they do not cover, on the evidence integrity page.

Grades move when new trials publish. A free monthly email lists every grade EBL moved, with the reason and the trial behind it: the sign-up is on the Evidence Log →