Skip to main content
Evidence Based Longevity (EBL) Check what I take
B

Supplement

Ashwagandha (standardized root extract)

Cortisol and stress or anxiety scores in stressed adults (pooled analyses disagree on perceived stress); sleep in adults with insomnia; a strength signal from two maker-funded trials that a 2026 meta-analysis A study that pools the numbers from several trials into one combined estimate. rates fragile.

Compare this record with another, side by side →

In plain words

Ashwagandha is an herb long used in India. Small studies tested a root extract in stressed adults for about two months. People taking it had lower levels of the stress hormone cortisol than people taking a dummy pill. Their scores on stress and anxiety questionnaires also fell in some studies but not in others. In the main studies, the extract was supplied or paid for by its maker. Rare cases of liver injury have been reported, and it can raise thyroid hormone levels.

BAshwagandha (standardized root extract) structure
C28H36O6
Withaferin A · representative structure, not to scale
B Grade B

A letter describes the human evidence, not the product, the manufacturer, or the ingredient's worth.

See the full evidence record →

Who responds: this record's trial reading reports no subgroup that identifies who responds.

Funding: All four trials this Grade B rests on were funded by industry: Chandrasekhar 2012 (PMID PubMed ID: the permanent number the US National Library of Medicine gives a published paper. Each one links to that paper's record on PubMed. 23439798) by the maker of the studied product, who donated it; Wankhede 2015 (PMID 26609282) by the maker of the studied product, who donated it; Lopresti 2019 (PMID 31517876) by the maker of the product it tested; Ziegenfuss 2018 (PMID 30463324) by the maker of the product it tested. The funder's role in design and analysis is not stated here, because the full trial reports could not be read. The letter is what the trials support under the grading rules; the funding is stated here so it can be weighed alongside it.

Cortisol and stress or anxiety scores in stressed adults; pooled analyses disagree on perceived stress. No cited trial measured thyroid.

RCTWhy this flag? ▾

At least one randomized, placebo-controlled human trial, typically double-blinded Neither the participants nor the people assessing them know who received the real treatment until the trial ends..

Learn more about evidence flags →
As studied
FormStandardized ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) extracts taken orally as capsules: a high-concentration full-spectrum root extract (Chandrasekhar 2012, PMID 23439798), a root extract (Wankhede 2015, PMID 26609282; Langade 2021, PMID 32818573), a different standardized extract (Lopresti 2019, PMID 31517876) and an aqueous root-and-leaf extract (Ziegenfuss 2018, PMID 30463324). The withanolide content of these extracts is not stated in the cited abstracts.
Dose300 mg twice daily, 600 mg/day (Chandrasekhar 2012, PMID 23439798; Wankhede 2015, PMID 26609282); 240 mg once daily (Lopresti 2019, PMID 31517876); 500 mg/day (Ziegenfuss 2018, PMID 30463324). Pooled sleep effects were larger at 600 mg/day or more (Cheah 2021 meta-analysis, PMID 34559859); the cortisol meta-analysis included oral doses of 250 mg/day or more (Albalawi 2025, PMID 40746175). The Langade dose is not stated in the cited abstract (Langade 2021, PMID 32818573).
PopulationStress: 64 adults with chronic stress (Chandrasekhar 2012, PMID 23439798) and 60 stressed, healthy adults (Lopresti 2019, PMID 31517876); pooled, 9 trials with 558 patients (Arumugam 2024, PMID 39348746) and 7 cortisol and 6 perceived-stress trials with 488 participants (Albalawi 2025, PMID 40746175). Sleep: 5 trials, 400 adults (Cheah 2021, PMID 34559859); 80 adults, 40 healthy and 40 with insomnia (Langade 2021, PMID 32818573). Strength: 57 men aged 18 to 50 new to resistance training (Wankhede 2015, PMID 26609282), 38 recreationally active men, mean age 26.5 (Ziegenfuss 2018, PMID 30463324), and 3 pooled trials with 161 healthy adults (Lee 2026 meta-analysis, PMID 42738987).
Duration60 days (Chandrasekhar 2012, PMID 23439798; Lopresti 2019, PMID 31517876); 8 weeks (Wankhede 2015, PMID 26609282; Langade 2021, PMID 32818573); 12 weeks (Ziegenfuss 2018, PMID 30463324). Pooled sleep effects were larger at 8 weeks or longer (Cheah 2021, PMID 34559859); the cortisol meta-analysis required trials of 2 weeks or longer (Albalawi 2025, PMID 40746175).

A grade describes the intervention that was tested. Where the product on the shelf differs from it, this says so.

How this letter has changed · latest: October 2026 · Corrected
Grade history
October 2026 · Corrected
Ashwagandha protocol: not-replicated flag removed

The B rests on Langade et al. (Cureus, 2019; PMID 31728244) and a five-trial meta-analysis of randomized sleep trials (Cheah et al., PLoS One, 2021; PMID 34559859). Pooled randomized evidence is replication The same finding reproduced by a separate research group. A result seen once can be chance or bias; a replicated one is harder to explain away. under the written rule; what the pooling does not show is a second trial of the same extract at the same dose, which the record states and which is not what the flag means. Flag removed, letter unchanged. Applied the written grade definition under the editor's standing instruction of October 2026 (Arnold Sandlow, D.C.).PMID 31728244 PMID 34559859

October 2026 · Corrected
Ashwagandha: sleep claim now cited, two extracts told apart, a null pooled analysis and a liver-injury series added

The best-use line claimed sleep quality with no sleep trial cited; Cheah 2021 (PMID 34559859) and Langade 2021 (PMID 32818573) now carry it. The ref treated two different extracts as one and overstated Lopresti 2019 (PMID 31517876): HAM-A and cortisol fell, the DASS-21 did not reach significance, testosterone did not differ from placebo An inactive substitute made to look like the real treatment, so participants cannot tell which one they received.; corrected. The strength signal is no longer called single-trial: Ziegenfuss 2018 (PMID 30463324) is added with its maker funding, and Lee 2026 (PMID 42738987) rates the pooled effect fragile. Albalawi 2025 (PMID 40746175), null on perceived stress, and Arumugam 2024 (PMID 39348746), positive, sit side by side. Björnsson 2020 (PMID 31991029), cholestatic liver injury cases, is added. Letter unchanged.PMID 34559859 PMID 32818573 PMID 31517876 PMID 30463324 PMID 42738987 PMID 40746175 PMID 39348746 PMID 31991029

October 2026 · Corrected
Ashwagandha (standardized root extract): funding and investigator ties stated beside the evidence

Funding stated beside the letter. All three trials behind the Grade B were run with the extract maker's money or product: the standardized root extract supplied by its maker in Chandrasekhar 2012 (PMID 23439798) and Wankhede 2015 (PMID 26609282), and Lopresti 2019 (PMID 31517876) funded by the maker of the extract it tested. Letter unchanged.PMID 23439798 PMID 26609282 PMID 31517876

Every change to a letter on this site is dated and published. The full evidence log →

Commercial disclosure
EBL earns no commission on any supplement it grades. A purchase made through the dispensary link below pays EBL nothing, the practitioner discount goes to you in full. The dispensary is Fullscript, a practitioner dispensary, and many of the professional-grade brands in it are sold mainly through practitioners rather than in health food stores. Grades are assigned by published rubric before any commercial relationship exists and are never influenced by one. Full disclosure.

Evidence last reviewed October 2026
Dose

300–600 mg/day of a standardized extract.

Form note

The trials used standardized extracts, either full-spectrum root or root plus leaf, with a stated withanolide content. Generic ashwagandha without a stated standardization lacks that data.

Timing in the trials

Timing differed between the cited trials: one capsule once daily after dinner (PMID 31517876), one capsule twice a day after food (PMID 23439798), and one capsule on waking and one shortly before bed (PMID 26609282).

Checked against the full published reports. What the cited trials did, not a schedule. Every supplement, by trial timing →

How to buy this: quality criteria, not a brand
How to buy this · quality criteria, not a brand
Clinical dose (what trials used)

300–600mg/day of a standardized extract; evening dosing for sleep.

Form the evidence used

A standardized extract, either full-spectrum root or root plus leaf, as used in the trials.

Third-party seal to look for

A stated withanolide percentage on the label, and any USP or NSF third-party seal.

Red flags to avoid

Generic “ashwagandha root powder”; unnamed extract; no standardization data.

The grade and these criteria are set only from human trials. Any purchase link is convenience and does not affect the grade.

Contraindications A condition or medication that makes a treatment unsafe or unsuitable for a particular person. · read before use
Contraindications and cautions

Liver disease, or any current unexplained rise in liver enzymes. Ashwagandha-induced liver injury is documented, typically appearing weeks to months after starting and usually resolving on stopping. Thyroid conditions: ashwagandha can raise T3 and T4. Autoimmune disease, on the immune-stimulating effect. Pregnancy.

Drug Interactions

Thyroid medication: additive, since ashwagandha raises thyroid hormone itself. Immunosuppressants: opposed, on the immune-stimulating effect. Sedatives and benzodiazepines: additive CNS depression. Any other hepatotoxic drug, on the liver-injury signal above.

Sources for the above

Ashwagandha-induced liver injury is documented. Liver injury attributed to ashwagandha has been described in a case series drawn from Iceland and the US Drug-Induced Liver Injury Network, and characterized further in a later scoping review. Bjornsson et al. (Liver International, 2020; PMID 31991029): ashwagandha-induced liver injury, a case series from Iceland and the US Drug-Induced Liver Injury Network. McIntyre et al. (Cureus, 2026; PMID 42367407): scoping review of the clinical characteristics and safety considerations of ashwagandha-associated liver injury.

How to track

Salivary/serum cortisol, sleep quality (ISI scale), testosterone (if relevant), thyroid panel if pre-existing concern

Primary evidenceTen papers, each linked to its PubMed record.
Primary evidence

Stress: Chandrasekhar et al. (Indian J Psychol Med, 2012; PMID 23439798): 64 adults, a full-spectrum root extract at 300 mg twice daily (600 mg/day) for 60 days; all stress scales and serum cortisol fell versus placebo. Lopresti et al. (Medicine (Baltimore), 2019; PMID 31517876): 60 adults, a DIFFERENT standardized extract at 240 mg/day, below this record's dose range, for 60 days; HAM-A fell (P = .040) and morning cortisol fell, but the DASS-21 did not differ significantly from placebo (P = .096) and the testosterone change was not significant versus placebo. Pooled: Arumugam et al. (Explore, 2024; PMID 39348746), 9 trials, 558 patients, Perceived Stress Scale, HAM-A and cortisol all improved; Albalawi et al. (Nutr Health, 2025; PMID 40746175), 7 trials on cortisol and 6 on perceived stress, cortisol fell 1.16 micrograms/dL but the Perceived Stress Scale did not change (SMD -0.36, P = 0.40). Sleep: Cheah et al. (PLoS One, 2021; PMID 34559859), 5 trials, 400 participants, small effect on sleep (SMD -0.59), larger in diagnosed insomnia, at 600 mg/day or more and 8 weeks or longer; Langade et al. (J Ethnopharmacol, 2021; PMID 32818573), 80 adults, sleep onset latency and sleep quality improved, more in those with insomnia. Strength: Wankhede et al. (J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2015; PMID 26609282), 57 men, strength and testosterone rose; Ziegenfuss et al. (Nutrients, 2018; PMID 30463324), 38 men, a root-and-leaf extract at 500 mg/day, squat and bench press gains larger than placebo, funded by that extract's maker; Lee et al. (Nutrients, 2026; PMID 42738987), meta-analysis of the resistance-training trials, found the strength effect lost significance under conservative adjustment and rated the certainty low. Safety: Björnsson et al. (Liver Int, 2020; PMID 31991029), five cases of cholestatic liver injury with jaundice attributed to ashwagandha supplements in Iceland and the US Drug-Induced Liver Injury Network, resolving in 1 to 5 months. Grade B: replicated randomized evidence on self-reported and biomarker A measurable sign in the body, such as a blood test value, used to track a condition or the effect of a treatment. endpoints The outcome a trial measures to decide whether the treatment worked, such as heart attacks, blood pressure or a symptom score., with the pooled analyses split on perceived stress. Funding: the extract in Chandrasekhar et al. and Wankhede et al. was supplied by its maker; Lopresti et al. was funded by the maker of the extract it tested, which also supplied it, with the two Indian principal investigators declaring no competing interest and the first author declaring past study funding from the same company; Ziegenfuss et al. was funded by its extract's maker. No trial behind the letter was run without an extract maker's money or product.

Educational use only · Not medical advice · Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician

FDA / DSHEA statement

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The grade on this page describes the strength of published human trial evidence in the populations studied. It is not a recommendation for any individual and is not medical advice. Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician.

Independence
EBL earns nothing on this record.

This page carries a letter. EBL takes no commission, referral fee or payment of any kind on anything it grades. No letter has been bought and none is for sale.

How this is enforced

That is not a promise, it is a build condition. Two checks run on every deploy: one refuses to publish if a commission is claimed on anything graded, the other refuses if a page names a commercial relationship that is not declared in the register. If either fails, this page does not go live. You can read how the checks work, and what they do not cover, on the evidence integrity page.

How EBL searched for the trials (1 search)

The search that was run, what it returned, and what was left out and why, so the absence of evidence can be checked as well as its presence.

Searched PubMed in October 2026. 52 records screened, 8 eligible for the graded claim.
Query: (ashwagandha[tiab] OR Withania somnifera[tiab]) AND (stress[tiab] OR anxiety[tiab] OR sleep[tiab] OR strength[tiab] OR cortisol[tiab]) AND (randomized controlled trial[pt] OR meta-analysis[pt]) AND humans[mesh]
Randomized trials and pooled analyses of ashwagandha on stress, anxiety, sleep, strength or cortisol. Eligible from the query: Lopresti 2019 (PMID 31517876), Wankhede 2015 (PMID 26609282), Arumugam 2024 (PMID 39348746), Albalawi 2025 (PMID 40746175; null on perceived stress), Cheah 2021 (PMID 34559859), Langade 2021 (PMID 32818573), Ziegenfuss 2018 (PMID 30463324), Lee 2026 (PMID 42738987; strength effect fragile). Chandrasekhar 2012 (PMID 23439798) is not indexed as a randomized trial and was already on the record; Björnsson 2020 (PMID 31991029) is a case series added for safety, outside the query.

Grades move when new trials publish. A free monthly email lists every grade EBL moved, with the reason and the trial behind it: the sign-up is on the Evidence Log →