Skip to main content
Evidence Based Longevity (EBL)Check what I take
← All protocols
B

Protocol

Concurrent training sequence: resistance before aerobic (same session)

When resistance and aerobic exercise are performed in the same session, randomized trials show a small advantage in lower-body dynamic strength when the resistance work comes first, and no difference in aerobic capacity in either sequence.

Compare this record with another, side by side →

At a glance

In plain words

This is about the order of exercise when strength work and aerobic work happen in the same session. Studies in healthy adults found a small gain in leg strength when strength work came first. The order made no difference to aerobic fitness. A 2026 review of many earlier reviews found no clear effect of order overall, only a trend toward strength first. No trial has tested whether the order changes deaths, heart events or other health outcomes.

The letter, taken apart
What was measured
Maximum leg lift strength and aerobic fitness (VO2max The most oxygen the body can use during all-out exercise, a standard measure of aerobic fitness.) when strength and aerobic work were done in the same session.
How big
Leg lift strength was 3.96 kg higher when strength work came first. Aerobic fitness did not differ by order (0.39 ml/kg/min, too small to count).Read from the summary of PMID PubMed ID: the permanent number the US National Library of Medicine gives a published paper. Each one links to that paper's record on PubMed. 28783467.
Who it applies to
Healthy adults in programs of five weeks or longer; a 2026 review of many reviews found no clear effect of order overall.
Safety
The record notes no safety concern beyond those of strength or aerobic exercise themselves.
The record in one view
Compared with
The same two kinds of exercise done in the opposite order, aerobic first.
Certainty
Grade B, resting on: Meta-analysis A study that pools the numbers from several trials into one combined estimate. of randomized trials.
What would change this grade
Could rise to A with: Large randomized trial comparing strength-first with endurance-first concurrent sessions, matched for volume, run by a group independent of the pooled trials, with strength testing blind to group. Who: Healthy adults aged 40 and over, men and women, at least 150 per arm. Measured: Lower-body one-repetition maximum by instrument, with VO2max as secondary. Length: At least 16 weeks.
Cost
No price recorded yet.
Sources
6 studies cited on this record, listed under Sources.
BMeasured function Grade B

When resistance and aerobic exercise are performed in the same session, randomized trials show a small advantage in lower-body dynamic strength when the resistance work comes first, and no difference in aerobic capacity in either sequence. Three syntheses agree on the direction, but they pool largely the same small randomized trials, so they are overlapping syntheses rather than independent replications; a 2026 umbrella review of 17 meta-analyses found no statistically significant Unlikely to be explained by chance alone at the threshold the study set. It says nothing about whether the difference is large enough to matter. effect of sequence, with a trend favoring resistance first for strength. Murlasits 2018 (PMID 28783467) pooled a 3.96 kg advantage in lower-body 1RM (95% CI 0.81 to 7.10) for strength-first, with no effect on VO2max. Eddens 2018 (PMID 28917030) pooled a 6.91 percent greater change in lower-body dynamic strength (95% CI 1.96 to 11.87, p=0.006) and found no effect of sequence on hypertrophy, static strength, VO2max or body-fat percentage. Gao 2023 (PMID 36776981; corrigendum PMID 37215175), across 19 randomized trials and 482 participants, found SMD 0.19 (95% CI 0.02 to 0.37, p=0.032) for lower-limb strength and SMD 0.02 (95% CI -0.21 to 0.25, p=0.859) for VO2max, with the strength difference concentrated in older participants, in women, in programs longer than 8 weeks, and at twice-weekly frequency. The graded endpoint The outcome a trial measures to decide whether the treatment worked, such as heart attacks, blood pressure or a symptom score. is strength. No randomized trial has tested whether the sequence itself changes mortality, cardiovascular events, or any other clinical outcome, and the aerobic comparison is a null rather than a finding in favor of either order. A short aerobic warm-up is not the comparison these trials made; the endurance arms were full aerobic sessions.

Why this letter

Why this gradeThe reasoning, and what the grade does not cover.
Why this grade

Grade B on lower-body dynamic strength. Three meta-analyses of randomized trials, consistent in direction, with the studied protocol specified: both modes inside one session, programs of five weeks or longer, healthy adults. Not A on effect size How large a difference the treatment made, as distinct from whether the difference could be detected at all. and certainty rather than on endpoint type: one-repetition maximum is an instrument-recorded functional endpoint and is eligible for Grade A by the second route, but the pooled sequence effect is small, its lower confidence bound sits at SMD 0.02, which is indistinguishable from no effect, and a 2026 umbrella review of 17 meta-analyses found no significant sequence effect overall. Not C because the pooled finding rests on many small randomized trials rather than a single trial; the three syntheses are overlapping, not independent replications, and the B does not claim otherwise. The VO2max comparison carries no grade in either direction: the trials tested it and found no difference.

WHAT THIS GRADE DOES NOT COVERaerobic fitness (VO2max), where the trials found no difference by order; and upper-body strength, sessions held on separate days, or people other than healthy adults, which the pooled trials did not test.

A grade describes the human evidence for a named use. It is not advice, and it is not a judgment on any individual prescription. How the letters are decided →

Who responds: this record's trial reading reports no subgroup that identifies who responds.

Evidence notes: meta-analysis, randomized trial

Endpoint graded: Lower-body dynamic strength (1RM) and maximal aerobic capacity (VO2max) under concurrent training (functional)

Last reviewed: October 2026

Evidence wanted

The trial that would change this grade.

DesignLarge randomized trial comparing strength-first with endurance-first concurrent sessions, matched for volume, run by a group independent of the pooled trials, with strength testing blind to group
PopulationHealthy adults aged 40 and over, men and women, at least 150 per arm
EndpointLower-body one-repetition maximum by instrument, with VO2max as secondary
DurationAt least 16 weeks

Positive trials of this shape from independent research groups would move this entry to A.

Why the current trials fall short

The pooled sequence effect is small, its lower bound sits near zero, and the three syntheses pool largely the same small trials, so they are not independent replications. A large independent trial on measured strength is what is missing.

Clinical trials

ClinicalTrials.gov, the public registry run by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, lists studies that are recruiting volunteers. The link below searches it for Concurrent Training among studies recruiting now. EBL has no relationship with any listed study and receives no payment for this link.

Search recruiting studies of Concurrent Training on ClinicalTrials.gov

Lab markers this record's trials moved

Each marker links to its entry on the Longevity Lab Panel, which lists every graded record whose trials measured it. Moving a marker is not the same as preventing disease.

Dose, form and timing

What to track

Both strength (compound lift 1RM or 5RM) and aerobic capacity (VO2max or 12-minute Cooper test) at baseline and every 8 weeks. The key finding is that resistance before aerobic, in the same session, preserved strength gains. Perceived recovery scores between sessions if training frequency is high.

As studiedDose, form, population and duration for every use.
As studied
FormConcurrent resistance (strength) and endurance training in the same session, comparing strength first with endurance first (Murlasits 2018, PMID 28783467; Eddens 2018, PMID 28917030; Gao 2023, PMID 36776981, corrigendum PMID 37215175; Held 2026 umbrella review, PMID 41762427); power-like strength plus endurance training (Wilhelm 2014, PMID 25449853).
DoseTwice a week (Wilhelm 2014, PMID 25449853); the strength-first advantage was seen in trials training twice a week (Gao 2023, PMID 36776981). Session length and intensity not stated in the cited abstracts.
PopulationHealthy adults in 10 studies (Eddens 2018, PMID 28917030); 19 randomized trials, 482 participants (285 men, 197 women) (Gao 2023, PMID 36776981); 144 studies, 1,492 healthy participants across 17 meta-analyses (Held 2026, PMID 41762427); 36 healthy untrained older men, mean ages 63 to 67 years (Wilhelm 2014, PMID 25449853). Trial and participant counts not stated for Murlasits 2018 (PMID 28783467).
Duration5 weeks or longer (Eddens 2018, PMID 28917030); the strength-first effect concentrated in programs longer than 8 weeks (Gao 2023, PMID 36776981); 12 weeks (Wilhelm 2014, PMID 25449853).

A grade describes the intervention that was tested. Where the product on the shelf differs from it, this says so.

Safety

Cautions

No prominent contraindication A condition or medication that makes a treatment unsafe or unsuitable for a particular person. beyond those attaching to either component. This record concerns the ORDER of two sessions, not whether to do them.

Safety evidence, by strength

No safety data. Each caution on this record, sorted by what it rests on.

Documented in human studies
Cautions resting on what randomized trials or large studies found in people.

None recorded.

Suspected from case reports
Harms reported in individual patients or uncontrolled observations, not confirmed by a trial.

None recorded.

Mechanistic only
Cautions reasoned from how it works, with no human harm data behind them.

None recorded.

Population cautions
Groups in whom it has not been studied, so its safety there is unknown.

None recorded.

No safety data

No safety data: EBL has found no trial or report of harm for this record. That is an absence of evidence, not a finding of safety.

Grade history

How this letter has changedLatest: No. 141 · October 2026 · Corrected.
Grade history
No. 141 · October 2026 · Corrected
Concurrent training sequence: the three syntheses described as overlapping rather than independent, the 2026 umbrella review and a null trial added, author names and the corrigendum stated

The record called three meta-analyses independent replications; Murlasits, Kneffel and Thalib 2018 (PMID 28783467), Eddens, van Someren and Howatson 2018 (PMID 28917030) and Gao and Yu 2023 (PMID 36776981) pool largely the same small trials, and the text now says so, with the third author of each of the first two named and Gao 2023's corrigendum (PMID 37215175) attached. Held 2026 (PMID 41762427), an umbrella review of 17 meta-analyses finding no significant sequence effect, and Wilhelm 2014 (PMID 25449853), a null comparison in older men, are added as the counterweight. Letter unchanged: B on consistent small pooled effects, not A.PMID 28783467 PMID 28917030 PMID 36776981 PMID 37215175 PMID 41762427 PMID 25449853

Every change to a letter on this site is dated and published. The full evidence log →

Sources

How this record was checked
Citations
Every paper cited on this page is matched to its PubMed record on every build.
Retractions
None of these papers is retracted or under a journal expression of concern. PubMed is checked again on every build.
Read against the papers
October 2026. By the EBL editor, Arnold Sandlow, DC.
Outside review
Not yet done. No reviewer outside EBL has checked this record.

What each of these checks can and cannot show: evidence integrity.

The evidence, in fullSix papers, each linked to its PubMed record.
The evidence

Murlasits, Kneffel and Thalib (J Sports Sci, 2018; PMID 28783467): systematic review A review that searches for every study on a question using a method set in advance, then assesses them together. and meta-analysis of chronic-effect trials comparing strength-endurance with endurance-strength sequence in the same session; lower-body 1RM higher by 3.96 kg (95% CI 0.81 to 7.10) with strength first, pooled VO2max difference 0.39 ml/kg/min (95% CI -1.03 to 1.81). Eddens, van Someren and Howatson (Sports Medicine, 2018; PMID 28917030): systematic review with meta-analysis, 10 studies, concurrent programs of five weeks or longer in healthy adults; resistance-endurance sequence favored for lower-body dynamic strength (6.91 percent change, 95% CI 1.96 to 11.87, p=0.006), no effect on lower-body hypertrophy (p=0.40), static strength, VO2max or body fat. Gao and Yu (Frontiers in Physiology, 2023; PMID 36776981; corrigendum PMID 37215175): systematic review and meta-analysis of 19 randomized controlled trials People are assigned to the treatment or a comparison by chance, so the groups differ only in what they received. It is the design that can show cause and effect., 482 participants (285 male, 197 female); lower-limb strength SMD 0.19 (95% CI 0.02 to 0.37, p=0.032), VO2max SMD 0.02 (95% CI -0.21 to 0.25, p=0.859); PubMed indexes it as a systematic review. The three syntheses draw on largely the same trials. Held et al. (Sports Medicine, 2026; PMID 41762427): umbrella review of 17 meta-analyses, 144 studies, 1,492 participants; no significant effect of training sequence, with trends favoring resistance first for strength and hypertrophy. Wilhelm et al. (Exp Gerontol, 2014; PMID 25449853): 36 older men, 12 weeks, no difference between sequences in knee-extension 1RM, power or sit-to-stand; PubMed indexes it as a controlled clinical trial. Grade B on strength.

How EBL searched for the trials (1 search)

The search that was run, what it returned, and what was left out and why, so the absence of evidence can be checked as well as its presence.

Searched PubMed in October 2026. 35 records screened, 6 eligible for the graded claim.
Query: ("concurrent training"[tiab] AND (sequence[tiab] OR order[tiab])) AND (randomized controlled trial[pt] OR meta-analysis[pt] OR systematic review[pt])
Randomized trials, meta-analyses and systematic reviews of intra-session sequence in concurrent training. Eligible: Murlasits 2018 (PMID 28783467), Eddens 2018 (PMID 28917030), Gao 2023 (PMID 36776981; corrigendum PMID 37215175), Held 2026 umbrella review (PMID 41762427), Wilhelm 2014 (PMID 25449853; null). Excluded: trials of sequence across separate days, and acute single-session studies.
PubMed watch: does a new study change the grade? (nothing new)

No new paper matching the search behind this grade has been added to PubMed since October 2026.

Last run October 2026. A letter on EBL moves only after a logged review. A new paper never moves a letter by arriving: it is read, the answer is written here, and any change to the letter is published in the evidence log.

Disclosure

Educational use only · Not medical advice · EBL grades published human evidence and does not recommend treatment. Stopping a prescription is a decision for your physician.

Evidence Based Longevity, Inc. is owner-operated and edited by Arnold Sandlow, D.C., a California-licensed chiropractor. Evidence Based Longevity publishes in English only · Machine translations are not produced or reviewed by EBL for accuracy

Educational use only · Not medical advice · © Evidence Based Longevity, Inc. All rights reserved · Privacy · Disclosure · Terms · Accessibility · Clinical trials

Medical disclaimer

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Any grade on this page describes the strength of published human trial evidence in the populations studied. It is not a recommendation for any individual and is not medical advice. Starting, stopping or changing any supplement or medication is a decision for your physician.

Grades move when new trials publish. A free monthly email lists every grade EBL moved, with the reason and the trial behind it: the sign-up is on the Evidence Log →

Build 0e1b9dc, November 2026