Skip to main content
Evidence Based Longevity (EBL)Check what I take
Evidence Trace, complete trial record
In plain terms

In plain terms: Ergothioneine (L-Ergothioneine) shows early signals in human research but the evidence is limited -- small trials, surrogate endpoints, or not yet independently replicated. It is an emerging area, not yet a proven one.

Ergothioneine (L-Ergothioneine)

C Limited: small, mixed or unreplicated trials
Category Supplements
Evidence One randomized pilot + observational studies
Reviewed July 2026
PMIDs 27444382 · 36139790 · 34673145 · 39544014 · 27488221
The endpoint this grade is based on: Objectively measured functional outcome, Verbal learning in mild cognitive impairment: one randomized placebo-controlled pilot, 19 adults aged 60 or over, 25 mg three times a week for a year, improved Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test performance and stable neurofilament light chain against placebo. Unreplicated, and the funder is not stated. Otherwise the evidence is observational association between low blood levels and cognitive decline.

The evidence as the record states it

Cheah et al. (Biochem Biophys Res Commun, 2016; PMID 27444382), Wu et al. (Antioxidants, 2022; PMID 36139790) and Wu et al. (2021; PMID 34673145): observational studies linking low plasma ergothioneine to cognitive decline; association only. Cheah et al. (Antioxid Redox Signal, 2017; PMID 27488221): the first administration of pure ergothioneine to healthy volunteers; it was absorbed and retained, with low urinary excretion, and markers of oxidative damage and inflammation showed decreasing trends that were mostly not significant, so no antioxidant effect in people is established. Yau et al. (J Alzheimers Dis, 2024; PMID 39544014): randomized double-blind placebo-controlled pilot, 19 adults aged 60 or over with mild cognitive impairment, 25 mg three times a week for a year; Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test performance improved and plasma neurofilament light chain was stable against placebo; safety markers unchanged; funding not stated in the indexed record, authors declare no conflicts. Unreplicated. Grade C on this one trial, scoped to its population and endpoint.

PMID 27444382 PMID 36139790 PMID 34673145 PMID 39544014 PMID 27488221

Why Grade C and not Grade B

Grade C reflects early or limited human evidence -- small trials, surrogate endpoints, or preliminary findings not yet independently replicated. The evidence points in a promising direction but does not yet meet the standard for Grade B. A single well-powered, independently replicated trial with a meaningful endpoint would move this to Grade B or higher.

What this grade covers and what it does not

Grade C, scoped to verbal learning in mild cognitive impairment. Yau 2024 (PMID 39544014) is a randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial that met its reported cognitive outcome, and under the written rule a single positive randomized trial is C. Not B: 19 participants, the authors' own description of a pilot, an unstated funder, and no second trial. Moved from D Route 1 in October 2026 by editor adjudication, closing the review opened October. WHAT THIS GRADE DOES NOT COVER: healthy adults and any aging outcome, where no trial exists; antioxidant or anti-inflammatory effects, where the human administration study (PMID 27488221) found mostly non-significant trends; and the observational association between low blood ergothioneine and cognitive decline (PMID 27444382, PMID 36139790, PMID 34673145), which is not evidence that taking it changes anything.

What would move this grade

A well-powered randomized trial with an objective, clinically meaningful primary endpoint and at least one independent replication would support Grade B or higher.

How to track whether this is working There is no validated routine clinical biomarker for ergothioneine response. If it is used for cognitive aging or mild cognitive impairment, repeat the same cognitive assessment over time. Plasma/whole-blood ergothioneine and neurofilament light can be measured in research settings, but should not be presented as established treatment-response markers.