In plain terms: Alpha-GPC (L-Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine) shows early signals in human research but the evidence is limited -- small trials, surrogate endpoints, or not yet independently replicated. It is an emerging area, not yet a proven one.
Alpha-GPC (L-Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine)
The evidence as the record states it
De Jesus Moreno Moreno (Clin Ther, 2003; PMID 12637119): randomized placebo-controlled trial in mild to moderate Alzheimer's disease, 400 mg three times daily (1,200 mg/day) for 180 days, cognitive scores improved; the indexed record states no funder and the full report was not read in this pass. Jeon et al. (BMC Geriatr, 2024; PMID 39300341): 100 adults with amnestic mild cognitive impairment, 600 mg/day for 12 weeks, ADAS-cog improved 2.34 points versus placebo; the only trial at this record's stated dose; a branded capsule, funder not stated in the indexed record. Sohn et al. (Diabetes Obes Metab, 2025; PMID 39703111): 36 adults with type 2 diabetes and mild cognitive decline, 1,200 mg/day; MMSE difference borderline at 6 months (P = 0.059), significant at 12 months; funded by Daewoong Pharmaceutical, which sells the drug form. Sagaro et al. (J Alzheimers Dis, 2023; PMID 36683513): meta-analysis, university-funded, whose pooled positive results are mainly for alpha-GPC added to donepezil in neurological disease; a combination with a prescription drug does not grade alpha-GPC alone. Sports: Marcus et al. (J Int Soc Sports Nutr, 2017; PMID 29042830), 48 young men, 7 days: no difference in isometric strength or vigilance, a jump-power gain only at 250 mg, not 500 mg, and serum TSH significantly lowered at 500 mg/day; funder not stated in the indexed record. Kerksick et al. (Nutrients, 2024; PMID 39683633), 20 trained men, single doses of 315 and 630 mg: no physical performance benefit, a Stroop gain only; funded by the maker of the alpha-GPC tested, whose paid advisor is the author. Lee et al. (JAMA Netw Open, 2021; PMID 34817582): national cohort associating alpha-GPC prescriptions with higher stroke risk over 10 years, publicly funded; a safety signal that cannot carry the grade either way. Grade C: positive randomized trials in diagnosed clinical populations, none in healthy aging. Funding: the trials that state a funder were paid for by companies that sell alpha-GPC.
Why Grade C and not Grade B
Grade C reflects early or limited human evidence -- small trials, surrogate endpoints, or preliminary findings not yet independently replicated. The evidence points in a promising direction but does not yet meet the standard for Grade B. A single well-powered, independently replicated trial with a meaningful endpoint would move this to Grade B or higher.
What would move this grade
A well-powered randomized trial with an objective, clinically meaningful primary endpoint and at least one independent replication would support Grade B or higher.